The Google Chrome’s sync option lets you sync all your preferences, bookmarks, extensions, apps, passwords, etc with other Chrome browsers through your Google Account, so that they are available from anywhere and no matter what computer you are using. However, the recent security glitches prove that the security of our data in the cloud has no guarantee.
Yes, there is not much problem if somebody knows what extensions, bookmarks, or apps we are using, but what about if somebody gets our passwords, mailing address, phone number, or credit card details?
If you enabled sync option in Chrome, most likely your form autofill data (passwords, username, and other personal data) will also pushed to Google’s servers, only your passwords are encrypted now.
Luckily, a new option has arrived to Google Chrome, which allows you encrypt all your sync data (see screenshot above) – (Via).